Here are your Champions!

by BTM

Sun, 06 March 2022

bic Here are your Champions!

Bahrain International Circuit (BIC), ‘The Home of Motorsport in the Middle East’, recently crowned the champions of the 2021/2022 Bahrain Drag Racing Championship.

The season’s titles were handed out in the official awarding ceremony held at the BIC Paddock. BIC COO Fayez Ramzy Fayez was in attendance, along with other officials from BIC, the Bahrain Motor Federation (BMF) and the Bahrain Drag Racing Club (BDRC), as well as winners and participants from the championship.

The newest champions were each presented with a highly coveted Wally trophy—the highest honour in the sport of drag racing awarded only to champions of events sanctioned by the U.S.-based National Hot Rod Association (NHRA). The world-class BIC drag strip is a member of the prestigious NHRA Worldwide Network.

The list of honourees included Bahrain1 Racing ace Khaled Al Balooshi (Pro Mod) from the UAE, and four Bahrainis - Abdulla Yaqoub (10.0 Index), Hussain Saeed Yousif (8.5 Index), Yousif Alzayani (Outlaw 6-Cylinder), Hussain Mohammed (Pro 29.5 V8).

The 2021/2022 season of the Bahrain Drag Racing Championship featured participants from across the GCC and the US. The championship was organised and run by BIC, the BMF and the BDRC.